Wisconsin’s Own film submissions now open – closes Dec. 27, 2019

The Wisconsin Film Festival (Festival) is now accepting submissions of Wisconsin’s Own films to be shown during the 22nd annual Festival – April 2-9, 2020. The Wisconsin’s Own category is for films and filmmakers with Wisconsin connections.

Eligible films must be shot primarily or significantly (at least one-third) on location in Wisconsin and/or one or more of the film’s principal creative personnel  – i.e., director, producer, screenwriter, lead actor or cinematographer – must be one of the following: born in Wisconsin, a current/former Wisconsin resident for at least one year or an alumnus/current student at a Wisconsin school. The Festival welcomes narrative, documentary, experimental and animated works of any length.

The Wisconsin Film Festival uses FilmFreeway, an online submission platform, for its Wisconsin’s Own submissions. The deadline for submissions is 5:00 p.m. CST on Dec. 27, 2019 for any films completed after Jan. 1, 2019.

Submission Process & Entry Fee

Interested applicants should visit go.wisc.edu/wisconsinsownsubmissions for full details including categories, eligible films, the submission process and submission format. Film entries are $35 for short films (under 60 minutes), $45 for feature length films and $15 for student films of any length.

After Dec. 1, 2019, submission fees for non-students increase to $55 for feature length films and $45 for short films.

The Golden Badger Awards

Films that are accepted into the upcoming Festival will be shown to a panel of judges who determine Golden Badger Award winners. Some previous Golden Badger recipients include:


“Life on the Mississippi” by Bill Brown

“Elephant Path” by Todd McGrain

“Played Out” by James Runde


“The Blood is at the Doorstep” by Erik Ljung

“FUTURE Language: The Dimensions of Von LMO” by Lori Felker

“Great Light” by Tony Oswald


“Cliff, Superfan!” by Diane Moy Quon

“Daedalus and Icarus” by Luke Bassuener and Crestwood Elementary School students (Madison, Wis.)

“Lingua Absentia” by Kate Raney and Jeremy Bessoff

For additional winners, visit: wifilmfest.org/awards.